Meta Hyperion
Under construction; Meta Platforms, Inc. is recorded as owning the AI hardware inside this site
Description quoted from Epoch AI Frontier Data Centers
Meta Hyperion is built on an enormous tract of land, more than three times the size of New York City’s Central Park. It is set to host Meta’s next flagship AI cluster after Prometheus. We estimate its compute capacity primarily based on an application by Entergy for three 752 MW gas turbines linked to the site, as well as plans for a new 1.8 GW substation by the grid operator MISO.
Source: Epoch AI Frontier Data Centers, CC BY 4.0
Site data: Epoch AI Frontier Data Centers.
Ownership and operation
AI hardware owner · per catalog
Meta Platforms, Inc. 1 finding
Which organisation owns the AI hardware inside it?
AI hardware owner · per catalog Meta Platforms, Inc. Epoch AI's field for who owns the AI hardware, which it defines as not necessarily the owner or operator of the facility. source
Export controls and government links
No export-control designations were found in the checked company chains.
Headquarters jurisdiction
A company in the ownership chain is headquartered in the United States
United States: Operates the Export Administration Regulations (EAR) and the BIS Entity List under 15 CFR 730–774; deemed-export rules extend reach to foreign nationals on US soil. Export-control regimes listed for this jurisdiction: Wassenaar Arrangement, US EAR (BIS Entity List authority).
Capacity
No power figure is recorded for this site.
Meta Richland Parish (Hyperion) has 2 records, and their power figures are never added together. Across the platform, recorded totals count the marked figure once; operating totals count a member’s figure only if it is operating capacity. Measurement scope is unrecorded for 2 of them.
Scope: not stated · Status: under construction · counted in recorded totals
Scope: not stated · Status: under construction
Meta Hyperion
- Any power figure on this record is excluded from power totals to avoid counting overlapping campus capacity twice.
Curator’s working note
Part of campus Meta Richland Parish (Hyperion). This record is a second record of a site another row represents, so it is not counted again in site totals; where it carries a power figure, that figure is withheld from aggregates and the campus canonical power lives on Meta Richland Parish (Hyperion). See the campus source-disagreement panel for every cited figure.
Methods and sources
Ownership roles
Title identifies the legal owner of the site; operation identifies who runs it. AI-hardware ownership follows the catalog’s attribution of the machines inside, whose owner may lease the facility.
Each role requires its own attribution. An operator named in a source supplies evidence of operation only.
Parent companies
Ownership checks start with each company named at the site and follow recorded parent relationships. A company holding several roles is checked once. Its linked company page lists the relationships and their sources; further parents may remain undocumented.
Level 1 identifies a company at the site, level 2 its parent, and each further level another parent. Export-control designations and government investments are assigned to the company concerned.
Missing values
Unrecorded roles remain blank. Findings whose company position is unresolved stay in the list with that position labelled unknown.
Publication limits
Subscription corporate data helps identify parent relationships and sovereign investments. Publication is limited to relationship classes and supporting public sources; licensed records, identifiers and values are withheld.
Epoch AI estimates capacity using satellite imagery, permits and corporate disclosures. Its catalog is the source for this site record.
The Epoch and press records describe Meta’s Hyperion campus in Richland Parish; their coordinates are approximately 6 m apart. The grouping cites Meta’s 13 July 2026 release identifying Hyperion at this site. Recorded totals retain the 2,000 MW figure; the campus is under construction, so operating totals exclude it. That release describes 5 GW at full build-out, a different figure which has not been substituted into the capacity record.
Related analysis
Browse the facilities directory or search the company directory.