Skip to main content

Meta Richland Parish (Hyperion)

TypeAI TrainingStatusUnder constructionWhereHolly Ridge, Louisiana, USIndexed fromCompany disclosure (press / IR)

Meta disclosed leases for Hyperion facilities once construction is complete

Meta’s October 21, 2025 disclosure assigns development and ownership to a joint venture and construction and property management to Meta. The lease covers campus facilities after construction; this disclosure does not establish present operation of the unfinished campus.

Role disclosure (2025-10-21): “for use of all of the facilities of the campus once construction is complete”

Meta's largest data center, on the former Franklin Farm megasite in Richland Parish, Louisiana. 4 million sq ft across 2,250 acres. Initial compute capacity: 2 GW for training open-source LLMs. Potential scale to 5 GW. Entergy Louisiana to build 2,260 MW of combined-cycle natural gas generation plus up to 2,500 MW of solar. Total investment: $10B+ (Fortune reports $27B as of Mar 2026). Construction underway as of early 2025.

Source: Company disclosure (press / IR)

0/3site roles identified0 site relationships1 finding in the company chain0 export-control designationsFurthest finding: company at site

Dates in site records: Dec 5, 2024 – Oct 21, 2025. Site data: Company disclosure (press / IR).

Ownership and operation

Plate I. Site owner, operator and hardware ownerscrutica.com · data to Oct 21, 2025 (derived)
Meta Richland Parish (Hyperion)Site

Joint-venture shareholder Meta Platforms, Inc. The organisation's own statement states a shareholding in the joint venture behind the site. “Funds managed by Blue Owl Capital will own an 80% interest in the joint venture, while Meta will retain the remaining 20% ownership.” source

Leases the property (announced) Meta Platforms, Inc. The organisation's own statement states a planned lease of the property. “Meta entered into operating lease agreements with the joint venture for use of all of the facilities of the campus once construction is complete.” source

Recorded operator attribution withheld Meta Platforms, Inc. The cited source does not establish that this organisation operates the site. “Meta announces joint venture with funds managed by Blue Owl Capital to finance the development and conduct the operations of the Hyperion data center campus in Richland Parish, Louisiana” source

Companies are grouped by their role at the site, with recorded parents above them. No company is identified in these roles, so their ownership chains could not be checked. Ticks count the export-control and government-link findings for each company.

Export controls and government links

No export-control designations were found in the checked company chains.

Plate III. Export controls and government linksscrutica.com · data to Oct 21, 2025 (derived)
site1A company in the ownership chain is headquartered in the United Statescompany levels
Company at site

Headquarters jurisdiction
A company in the ownership chain is headquartered in the United States

United States: Operates the Export Administration Regulations (EAR) and the BIS Entity List under 15 CFR 730–774; deemed-export rules extend reach to foreign nationals on US soil. Export-control regimes listed for this jurisdiction: Wassenaar Arrangement, US EAR (BIS Entity List authority).

Country is the recorded headquarters location.Linked through the company recorded as appearing in this record without an established title, operating or hardware role.

Triangle: export-control designation or regulatory flag. Square: sovereign capital linkage. Circle: headquarters jurisdiction. Level 1 is a company at the site; higher levels are its parents. 1 finding is recorded; 0 are export-control designations.

Capacity

Reading. Power and acceleratorsscrutica.com · data to Oct 21, 2025 (derived)
2.0 GW

Facility power

Estimated. Not operating capacity: under construction.

not recorded

Power for IT equipment

not recorded

Accelerators

Meta Richland Parish (Hyperion) has 2 records, and their power figures are never added together. Across the platform, recorded totals count the marked figure once; operating totals count a member’s figure only if it is operating capacity. Measurement scope is unrecorded for 2 of them.

Scope: not stated · Status: under construction · counted in recorded totals

Meta Richland Parish (Hyperion)

2.0 GW · not operating capacity · Company disclosure (press / IR)

Scope: not stated · Status: under construction

Meta Hyperion

no power figure · Epoch AI Frontier Data Centers

Methods and sources

Ownership roles

Title identifies the legal owner of the site; operation identifies who runs it. AI-hardware ownership follows the catalog’s attribution of the machines inside, whose owner may lease the facility.

Each role requires its own attribution. An operator named in a source supplies evidence of operation only.

Parent companies

Ownership checks start with each company named at the site and follow recorded parent relationships. A company holding several roles is checked once. Its linked company page lists the relationships and their sources; further parents may remain undocumented.

Level 1 identifies a company at the site, level 2 its parent, and each further level another parent. Export-control designations and government investments are assigned to the company concerned.

Missing values

Unrecorded roles remain blank. Findings whose company position is unresolved stay in the list with that position labelled unknown.

Publication limits

Subscription corporate data helps identify parent relationships and sovereign investments. Publication is limited to relationship classes and supporting public sources; licensed records, identifiers and values are withheld.

Curator’s note on this campus

The Epoch and press records describe Meta’s Hyperion campus in Richland Parish; their coordinates are approximately 6 m apart. The grouping cites Meta’s 13 July 2026 release identifying Hyperion at this site. Recorded totals retain the 2,000 MW figure; the campus is under construction, so operating totals exclude it. That release describes 5 GW at full build-out, a different figure which has not been substituted into the capacity record.

Browse the facilities directory.