Skip to main content

xAI

TypeAI LabHQUSFounded2023

Space Exploration Technologies Corp. is the last parent traced, 1 ownership level above this company

1
ownership level above this company
1
supply relationships in public sources · 1 with suppliers, 0 with customers
1
counterparties named from licensed supply-chain data · 1 supplier
4
linked facilities
0
export-control designations found
0
sovereign commitments to funds investing in this company
Scrutica id
org-xai
Name and corporate-form variants · 3 X.AI Corp. · X.AI LLC · xAI Corporation
Unclassified · 1 SpaceXAI

Ownership chain

The main chain follows the strongest parent claim by confidence, source authority and date; other named parents appear beside it. A holding reviewed as conferring no control is listed under the company it is held in, never as its parent.

  1. xAI (US)

    Starting organisation.

  2. Space Exploration Technologies Corp. (US)SPCX · CIK 1181412

    Per SEC EDGAR, as of 2026-06-12 (HIGHtier 1): Space Exploration Technologies Corp. wholly owns this organisation, as the cited filing states.

End of the displayed chain

The displayed ownership chain ends at Space Exploration Technologies Corp. (SPCX · CIK 1181412)

Ownership-change events

Transactions involving this organisation as the acquired company or a deal participant. “Participant” means the source gives no buyer or seller role. Each entry shows up to four parties and opens to any others; the acquired company is not separately identified.

  • Buyout/LBO · Secondary Buyout
    2025 · Announced/In Progress · $10B or more
    Participant: Name withheld under licence; Participant: xAI; Participant: Name withheld under licence; Participant: Name withheld under licence
    10 more parties
    Participant: NVIDIA; Acquirer: Name withheld under licence; Participant: Name withheld under licence; Participant: Name withheld under licence; Seller: Name withheld under licence; Seller: Name withheld under licence; Seller: Name withheld under licence; Seller: Name withheld under licence; Seller: Name withheld under licence; Seller: Name withheld under licence

Compute arrangements

Filings and announcements recording who owns, runs or contracts compute capacity, where xAI is one of the parties: 5 disclosures. Each is graded by its source’s authority, who disclosed it and whether its figure is an estimate.

Held by xAI5 disclosuresArrangements in which xAI is the party holding the site or its capacity.
Ownsheld in own namecapacity not stated in this disclosure
Reported · Press release by a third party · MACROHARDRR · Published Jan 8, 2026 · Source ↗
Receipt
“xAI has purchased and is retrofitting a building to house the new data center operations. MACROHARDRR pushes our Colossus training compute to ~2GW – by far the most powerful AI system on Earth.”

The governor’s office announced xAI’s purchase and retrofit of the MACROHARDRR building in Southaven, with operations expected from February 2026. The release attributes the approximately 2 GW figure to xAI; it refers to the combined Colossus system, without allocating power to this building. The seller is not named.

Operatesheld in own namecapacity not stated in this disclosure
Reported · News report by a third party · Permit approved Mar 10, 2026 · Source ↗
Receipt
“The Mississippi Department of Environmental Quality (MDEQ) approved an air permit Tuesday for MZX Tech, an affiliate of Elon Musk's xAI, to operate a new data center in Southaven.”

WLBT reports an air permit for MZX Tech, an xAI affiliate, at Southaven, Mississippi. The approval is evidence of permission to operate; it does not establish that the permitted equipment was operating at that date. A power capacity could not be verified from the sources reviewed.

The record dates the permit approval to 10 March 2026. WLBT’s publication timestamp is 11 March in UTC.

Operatesheld in own namecapacity not stated in this disclosure
Reported · Chamber statement by a third party · Colossus 1 · Published Jul 2, 2025 · Source ↗
Receipt

The Greater Memphis Chamber reports approval of a construction permit for 15 natural-gas turbines at Colossus I. The release concerns backup generation equipment and does not establish that the data center was operating at that date.

Offtakewith Memphis Light, Gas & Water Division150 MW, basis unspecified
Reported · News report by a third party · Colossus 1 · Published Feb 12, 2026 · Source ↗
Receipt

TVA’s 11 February 2026 minutes approve an additional 150 MW for CTC Property LLC (xAI), through MLGW, subject to contractual, financial and operational requirements. MLGW had identified this as a second 150 MW increment at Paul Lowry Road. Delivery of the additional allocation is not established by the approval.

TVA’s 11 February 2026 minutes: additional allocation and conditions (p. 9) ↗

TVA’s meeting presentation: CTC Property LLC and xAI (slides 13–16) ↗

MLGW’s 5 May 2025 update: successive 150 MW increments ↗

Offtakewith Memphis Light, Gas & Water Division150 MW, basis unspecified
Reported · News round-up by a third party · Colossus 1 · Published Nov 8, 2024 · Source ↗
Receipt

Canary Media reports TVA approval of MLGW’s first 150 MW allocation for xAI in Memphis. MLGW’s 5 May 2025 update confirms that the Paul Lowry Road site was receiving 150 MW and had requested a further 150 MW.

MLGW’s 5 May 2025 update: initial supply and second request ↗

Sovereign investment through funds

Sovereign fund linkage is withdrawn while its fund-type and identity checks are rebuilt.

Known facilities

Sites whose record names this company, in any role. Each facility record states the relationship its source establishes.

FacilityRolePowerAccelerators
Operating capacity2 of 4 sites
Colossus 2OperationalAI TrainingUnited StatesAI hardware owner1,276 MWNo accelerator count recorded
Colossus 1OperationalAI TrainingUnited StatesAI hardware owner · Buys the site's power · Runs the site425 MW230,000
Held from operating capacity1 of 4 sites
xAI Fulton GeorgiaAnnouncedAI TrainingUnited StatesAI hardware owner20 MWHeld: announced12,448Held
No power figure shown1 of 4 sites
MACROHARDRROperationalAI TrainingUnited StatesSite ownerNo power figure recordedNo accelerator count recorded

Suppliers and customers

Sources include SEC filings, company disclosures and licensed supply-chain data. No dollar amounts are published for these relationships. Disclosures more than 5 years old are marked historical, and a relationship whose recorded end date has passed is marked ended with that date. Records are grouped by counterparty; within each group, historical and ended records follow the rest. Counterparties with more current records come first, and disclosures that name no counterparty share one entry. A product or service, a percentage (the supplier’s share of one product line in the customer’s inputs) and a sole-source mark appear only where the record’s cited source states them for the pair; alternative suppliers may exist outside this corpus.

Explore full supply chain graph →

Licensed supply-chain database

Beyond the relationships above, a licensed supply-chain database records 1 supplier of xAI, named here by headquarters country. The database’s own figures are withheld.

Suppliers · 1
United States · 1

Oracle Corporation

Related analysis

Source coverage

Licensed supply-chain records are available for this company. Geographic revenue, business segments and capital allocation are unavailable from the licensed financial dataset. No stock ticker or SEC filing identifier is recorded for xAI. The public industry classification (SIC, NAICS) is also unrecorded. Sources and publication limits.