Olivia (Sigma2)
Operational; the organisation this record names is not established in any role by its cited source
Olivia is Norway's national supercomputer, operated by Sigma2 and installed at Lefdal Mine Data Centers in Nordfjordeid. Delivered by HPE, it launched in 2025 with 64,512 AMD CPU cores and 304 NVIDIA GH200 superchips; on 27 February 2026 the operator reported that 144 GH200 had been added, for 448 in total. The expansion's commissioning day and the GH200 variant are not stated.
Source: Sigma2 disclosures (Olivia)
Date in site records: Feb 27, 2026. Site data: Sigma2 disclosures (Olivia).
Ownership and operation
Recorded operator attribution withheld Sigma2 AS. The cited source does not establish that this organisation operates the site. “We did not just invest in a static supercomputer; we invested in a platform for growth.” source
Export controls and government links
The site’s companies and their recorded parents were checked; no export-control designation, sovereign investment or classified jurisdiction was found. Headquarters country is unrecorded for Sigma2 AS, leaving its jurisdiction check incomplete.
Capacity
Facility power
No power figure is recorded for this site.
Power for IT equipment
Accelerators
Present inventory by partition
withheld No dense FP16 rate for NVIDIA GH200 has passed evidence review.
448 × NVIDIA GH200
installed (from the facility status)
Held: No reviewed dense FP16 rate. No dense FP16 rate for NVIDIA GH200 has passed evidence review.
Sigma2 news 'Olivia expands: Massive GPU capacity upgrade' (2026-02-27) · 2026-02-27 · tier 1 · Whole Olivia system after the February 2026 expansion: 304 GH200 at the 2025 launch plus 144 added = 448; the 144 are inside the 448, not additional to it. GH200 variant not stated.
One partition is held, so no facility figure is derived; the held partition’s count and source remain visible and nothing is substituted for its rate. Rates are the cited dense FP16 figure per accelerator; the sum applies the methodology’s utilization and interconnect assumptions and is a theoretical aggregate, not one job’s throughput. The catalogue figures above are the record’s scalar fields (the source’s transcription, or its recorded correction) and are a different basis.
Methods and sources
Ownership roles
Title identifies the legal owner of the site; operation identifies who runs it. AI-hardware ownership follows the catalog’s attribution of the machines inside, whose owner may lease the facility.
Each role requires its own attribution. An operator named in a source supplies evidence of operation only.
Parent companies
Ownership checks start with each company named at the site and follow recorded parent relationships. A company holding several roles is checked once. Its linked company page lists the relationships and their sources; further parents may remain undocumented.
Level 1 identifies a company at the site, level 2 its parent, and each further level another parent. Export-control designations and government investments are assigned to the company concerned.
Missing values
Unrecorded roles remain blank. Findings whose company position is unresolved stay in the list with that position labelled unknown.
Publication limits
Subscription corporate data helps identify parent relationships and sovereign investments. Publication is limited to relationship classes and supporting public sources; licensed records, identifiers and values are withheld.
Related analysis
- Olivia (Sigma2) on the global mapOpens the map at this site’s pin, among the facilities around it.
- Olivia (Sigma2) in the threshold comparisonEach listed site’s estimated compute against regulatory training thresholds, or the reason no estimate is admitted.
- Allied coordination: Ownership chain incompletely recordedThe Allied Coordination Gap Analyzer lists this site under that class of ownership chain.
- Norway country profileFacility capacity, government programmes and export-control access for the country this site is in.
Browse the facilities directory.