Expanding; the organisation this record names is not established in any role by its cited source
xAI's Colossus supercluster complex in Memphis, TN. World's largest single-site AI training installation as of Jan 2026. Colossus 1 (Bldg 1): 100K H100, operational Sep 2024 in 122 days. Colossus 2 (Bldg 2): ~455K cumulative GPUs including GB200 Blackwell chips, crossed 1 GW threshold Jan 2026. Building 3 (Southaven, MS, nicknamed 'MACROHARDRR') purchased Dec 2025, conversion to data center began Q1 2026. Total planned capacity: 2 GW.
Source: Press reporting
Dates in site records: Jun 1, 2024 – Sep 1, 2024. Site data: Press reporting.
Ownership and operation
Recorded operator attribution withheld xAI. The cited source does not establish that this organisation operates the site. “The facility, known as “Colossus,” already houses one massive data center building” source
Recorded owner attribution withheld xAI. The cited source does not establish that this organisation holds title to the site. “Elon Musk’s xAI Corp. is looking to expand its sprawling artificial intelligence data center complex in Memphis after purchasing a third building at the site.” source
Export controls and government links
No export-control designations were found in the checked company chains.
Headquarters jurisdiction
A company in the ownership chain is headquartered in the United States
United States: Operates the Export Administration Regulations (EAR) and the BIS Entity List under 15 CFR 730–774; deemed-export rules extend reach to foreign nationals on US soil. Export-control regimes listed for this jurisdiction: Wassenaar Arrangement, US EAR (BIS Entity List authority).
Capacity
Facility power
Excluded from totals to avoid counting this campus twice; the total uses Colossus 2.
Power for IT equipment
Accelerators
Present inventory by partition
withheld Facility status is expanding, not operational.
100,000 × H100_SXM5
status not stated (from the facility status)
Held: Not present capacity. Part of the inventory has no recognized deployment status. Documented variants: H100 SXM5 989.5; H100 PCIe 756 TFLOP/s; none applied.
Catalogue row; no partition-level source recorded
100,000 × H200 (estimated)
status not stated (from the facility status)
Held: Not present capacity. Part of the inventory has no recognized deployment status. Documented variants: H200 SXM 989.5; H200 NVL 835.5 TFLOP/s; none applied.
Catalogue row; no partition-level source recorded
355,000 × GB200 (estimated)
status not stated (from the facility status)
Held: Not present capacity. Part of the inventory has no recognized deployment status.
Catalogue row; no partition-level source recorded
3 partitions are held, so no facility figure is derived; the held partitions’ counts and sources remain visible and nothing is substituted for their rates. Rates are the cited dense FP16 figure per accelerator; the sum applies the methodology’s utilization and interconnect assumptions and is a theoretical aggregate, not one job’s throughput. The catalogue figures above are the record’s scalar fields (the source’s transcription, or its recorded correction) and are a different basis.
xAI Colossus 2 (Memphis) has 4 records, and their power figures are never added together. Across the platform, recorded totals count the marked figure once; operating totals count a member’s figure only if it is operating capacity.
Scope: site total · Status: operational · counted in recorded totals
Scope: multi-site program total · Status: expanding
xAI Colossus Memphis
Scope: named cluster (phase 1) · Status: announced
Scope: named cluster (phase 2) · Status: announced
- Any power figure on this record is excluded from power totals to avoid counting overlapping campus capacity twice.
Curator’s working note
Part of campus xAI Colossus 2 (Memphis). This row's power capacity is withheld from aggregates; the campus canonical power figure lives on Colossus 2. See the campus source-disagreement panel for every cited figure.
- An earlier performance figure was removed after a units check.
Methods and sources
Ownership roles
Title identifies the legal owner of the site; operation identifies who runs it. AI-hardware ownership follows the catalog’s attribution of the machines inside, whose owner may lease the facility.
Each role requires its own attribution. An operator named in a source supplies evidence of operation only.
Parent companies
Ownership checks start with each company named at the site and follow recorded parent relationships. A company holding several roles is checked once. Its linked company page lists the relationships and their sources; further parents may remain undocumented.
Level 1 identifies a company at the site, level 2 its parent, and each further level another parent. Export-control designations and government investments are assigned to the company concerned.
Missing values
Unrecorded roles remain blank. Findings whose company position is unresolved stay in the list with that position labelled unknown.
Publication limits
Subscription corporate data helps identify parent relationships and sovereign investments. Publication is limited to relationship classes and supporting public sources; licensed records, identifiers and values are withheld.
Four records describe xAI’s second Memphis-area site and overlapping projects. Power totals use Epoch’s site estimate. The announced cluster-phase figures of 264.26 and 1,409.41 MW are excluded from power totals. The 2,000 MW press figure covers the wider Memphis programme, including Colossus 1 and Colossus 2; it is retained here for comparison and is also excluded.
Related analysis
Browse the facilities directory.